Preparing the hive

The warré hive is much smaller than conventional hives. The internal measurements of approximately 30cm square is comparable to that of a hollow tree that bees would choose in the wild.

Inside, there are 8 evenly spaced top bars. Instead of sheets of foundation it is usual to fit homemade wax starter strips to these bars to encourage the bees to build their natural naan-shaped combs vertically.

When ordered my new warré I was unable to get a version in cedar so it is in soft wood which needed protection from the weather. I decide that if I had to paint it I would make it distinctive and different.

So I painted it with white garden paint and decorated it with acrylics. I covered the roof with strips of scalloped roofing felt added protection. I’m sure the bees don’t mind!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started